About Membership Publications Officers Help
Main Menu



Remember me

Lost Password?
Want to Register?
Contact a Webmaster at: richard@wvroane.org
Tell Your Friends!
Visitor Count

View Stats

Main : History : People Amma Baseball Team, Roane County Champions 1930

[<   Previous  91  92  93  94  95  96  97  Next   >]

Amma Baseball Team, Roane County Champions 1930
Amma Baseball Team, Roane County Champions 1930Popular
Posted by: Webmaster   (See more photos from Webmaster)   2007/9/8 22:19
Views: 4178   Comments: 0    
This picture of the Amma championship team taken a few minutes after their victory includes, front, left to right: Clyde Knight, Holley Carper, Harry Ferrell, Hallie Steel, Romie Graham, Oke Cottrell, Crede McClain (umpire).
Back row: Charlie Harris, Bert Miller, Monlie Miller, Grase Burns, George Young, Ora Gandy, Romie Cottrell, Oral Dye (umpire), Roy Nida (manager).

Donald Vineyard, president of the league, is shown presenting the William Woodyard cup to the winning manager and members of the state police force are shown holding aloft the championship pennant presented by The Times Record.

A story of this team appeared in The Times Record on Thursday, May 7, 1998 titled "That Special Season, Amma Baseball Club won 1930 county championship" and was written by Jack Nida, guest writer. The eight team league received front page coverage each week in The Times Record during the summer of 1930 and the championship playoffs were billed as The Little World Series. Nearly 2,000 people attended each of the three playoff games at Tariff and Tater Run ball fields.

[<   Previous  91  92  93  94  95  96  97  Next   >]

Comment View Options:
The comments are owned by the poster. We aren't responsible for their content.

These photographs are posted here for your personal research and enjoyment. Each remains the property of the original submitter. Please contact that individual before considering any other use of their photos.

Share This
Share |
Copyright © 2002-2017 Roane County Historical Society, Inc.